What's Hot

A Question on the Rules of Golf

Rule 19 of the USGA Rules of Golf

An Unusual Situation

Recently I had this Rules question posed to me.

A player hits his second shot over a hill towards an area where there is Out-of-Bounds.  Not sure if the ball is in or out of bounds, he plays a provisional ball  The provisional ball lands on the green.  He searches and finds the original ball which is in bounds.  Without picking up his provisional ball, he plays his third shot which hits the provisional ball and rolls into the hole.  What is the ruling and what score does the player receive?

Rule 19 – Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped

Rule 19 of the USGA Rules of Golf deals with a Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped.  More specifically, Rule 19-5 is By Another Ball (a.) At Rest and states If a player’s ball in motion after a stroke is deflected or stopped by a ball in play and at rest, the player must play his ball as it lies.  In match play, there is no penalty.  In stroke play, there is no penalty, unless both balls lay on the putting green prior to the stroke, in which case the player incurs a penalty of two strokes.

In this instance, the players score is a 3.

If you have any question on the Rules of Golf consult any of the golf professionals at Chesapeake Bay Golf Club.


Brian Kramp, PGA
Head Golf Professional